September 30th, 2012: Where This Blog Stands For Now

I have just finished up my most recent project on this blog, the profile of Larry Willard, that is in five parts.  And that project will be the last one on this blog for now.  As of now I will take a break from this blog and focus on other projects I am working on.

I should say a few things about my reasons for starting this blog.  It started in June 2010, over 2 years ago from today.  Since then I have published over 100 articles, most of them original ones I created, a few others I have reprinted.  My reasons for starting this blog were pretty simple.  As a former activist who used to live in and organize in New Mexico, I acquired many pages of research on many things, most of them revolving around the various military presence in the state, the corporate and military influence in the university system, the structures of power in New Mexico, etc.  Back then I wrote a few articles about some of these topics, some of them reposted and modified here on this site, yet much research went unfinished.  And it was going to do no one any good collecting dust.  So back in 2010 I found myself with a little more time on my hands, so I dug these boxes out of my closet and dug into these files to get something down.  Mainly for my own understanding, to get closure on this previous part of my life, and in the hope that others would read it and find use in what I have written.

The result of this work was that El Lobo Rojo has so far been read by tens of people all over the world, some outside my close circle of friends.  Now I did not really do that many efforts to publicize it, as this was more of a personal project for me, and really I didn’t know what kind of audience to aim it to.  Now part of me did have that common writers delusion, that I’d write an article exposing some wrongs in society, other people would read it, become informed and, well, do something.  I realize it’s not as simple as that.  Heck, I have all this information about all these topics, but even I don’t know exactly what to do with it all.

No matter, it is still good to know about these things, and for people to get knowledge to get together to find solutions.  Also a note about my sources.  All of the information I wrote about here is not that secret, it was all obtained from various public sources.  As you can see all my articles have been extensively endnoted.  Just a few hours on the internet and in the library will bring these things up.  In fact one can find more information about these things in the pages of Popular Science and Popular Mechanics and the like.  Maybe that’s a problem too, not lack of information but too much information to make sense of it all.  But if you look for it you will likely find it, so keep on doing it.

On activism.  As I mentioned before I was a long time activist in the state up to my move from New Mexico.  Still am involved politically where I live now, just doing different things.  I became one sort of like anyone else does, to change the world.  Many times it was great, being around people who had similar beliefs, working together to effect change, being part of a movement that is bigger than oneself, involving masses of people, and the feeling that the world can be changed.  Other times it’s of despair, becoming burnt out, fatigued, feeling alone.  Becoming part of infighting, squabbles, friends in your activist scene later become non-friends.  There being egos, opportunism, sectarianism, personal attacks.  And I’ve done my share as well as been on the receiving end.  But no matter what I don’t regret it, always could have done things different but, cest la vie.

And overall, I don’t want to give the impression that these things I write about are the only things about my home state.  There are lots of great people who were and still are in New Mexico, different activists, organizers, scholars, artists, and others who just live their everyday lives the best they can.  Occasionally I hear about activism that goes on now in New Mexico still today.  It is encouraging to see that new people are standing up against the way things currently are, as well as those who have never stopped.

I guess if I can give advice to others, it is this.  Put importance on your life whatever you do.  Take care of your mental and physical health.  Be kind to those around you, they may return the favor someday.  Build something, whether a birdhouse, garden or community.  Read books.  Be part of something.  And know that you cannot do it all; its okay to say “I can’t do this,” focus and don’t spread yourself too thin.  And take everything critically, including what I just said.

As for this blog, I’m taking a break but I’m not going away.  I’m doing other projects right now, if appropriate I will inform anyone who reads this about where they can check them out.  If I do any work in the immediate future on this site, it will be things like fixing any spelling and grammar, improve sentences to make things clearer, improve the searchability and readibility, and other format changes.  In the future I may write another series about  a topic I have not approached yet on here, the nuclear warheads in Albuquerque.  Right now there are about 2,000 nuclear warheads stored at Kirtland Air Force Base in Albuquerque.  If New Mexico became an independent country it would be the third largest nuclear power in terms of number of weapons.  The Stop the War Machine group has done lots to bring attention to it.  Two of their key members, Bob Anderson and Jeanne Pahls, are conducting write-in campaigns for Senate and Congress respectively, this year in 2012.  Check them out at http://www.andersonforsenate.org/andersonforsenate.org/Home.html and http://www.pahlsforcongress.org/Pahlsforcongress.org/Home.html.  And if you live there, go vote for them, why the hell not?  And in the future future I may use the writings here as notes for a book that will really tie it all together!  Hey, anything is possible.  If you need to find something on here, please use the search engine on the right side to do any research, who knows you may find what you are looking for.

Most of the articles here have been of past events too.  But that’s not too bad either.  The purpose of studying history, in any form, is to master it and move beyond it.  I feel I have done that for a certain section of it, and gained from that in order to take me forward.  For any readers who got something out of this blog, thank you.  Talk to you all again very soon.

About elloborojo

Okay, as the subtitle states, this is a notebook from what I call a New Mexico diaspora (look up diaspora if you are asking). I was a former resident of New Mexico, now living elsewhere, but New Mexico is still my homeland. To get more in touch with your homeland one must be away from it. This is my attempt to understand it. I was a former anti-militarism activist in the Albuquerque area. Still believe that United Snakes militarism is the greatest threat to the world, as do the majority of the worlds population. Uncovered much information about the ties in New Mexico, but never processed it all. This blog is an attempt to do that. Also hope it may come of use to others with similar interests.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

